New Beginnings

newbeginA year ends and a new one begins. Over the Christmas break, every year a classic film is shown on television. Dickens ‘A Christmas Carol’. It is iconic, so much so that it has been made and remade many times. Even the Muppets made their own version!

What is it about the end of a year and this movie that makes us pause for thought? I know I have. I have found my thoughts focussing on baptism. For me baptism isn’t simply a reminder with empty symbolism.  It has both meaning and effect. It is profound. Where I find myself in my life is living with a knowledge of God’s grace, which can be both liberating and humbling. It is a deep recognition of my poverty of spirit, and the enormity of God’s love.

This is a place of change, a place of opportunity and a place of new beginnings. It is a place where I am trying very hard to listen. Lord, give me ears to hear. Amen

Leave a Reply

