Coming Home

For many years after leaving home, first when I started studying at University, then when I got my first house, and subsequently as I moved around the country with work, I felt that home was wherever I was.

That is certainly true to some extent.  But in recent years many of the things that would typically support that view have been stripped away.  At times I have felt like a stranger in a strange or foreign land.

In Psalm 137, the captives in exile in Babylon were taunted by their captors…For
there our captors asked us for songs, and our tormentors asked for mirth, saying, “Sing us one of the songs of Zion!”

How could we sing the
LORD‘s song in
a foreign land?

If I forget you, O Jerusalem, let my right
hand wither!

Let my tongue cling to the roof of my mouth, if I do not remember you, if I do not
set Jerusalem
above my highest joy.

That question, “How could we sing the LORD’s song in a foreign land?” has certainly resonated with me.  I believe it resonates with all Christians because we are in the world but not of the world.  We are often in a ‘foreign land’ don’t you think?  But we need to be reminded that God is with us wherever we might be, even in that foreign land.  We don’t take God with us; he is already there.  He is even there with us and others in our brokenness.   It is when we acknowledge his presence that we may find our voices  and begin to sing the LORD’s song wherever we are, in trouble and joy, in adversity as well as peace.

I like singing the LORD’s song and in my heart I yearn to sing it wherever I am, in all times and under all circumstances.  I am still finding my voice, but oh what songs I would like to sing!

Don Moen sang a beautiful song composed by Robin Mark called ‘When it’s all been said and done”.  It includes the following verse:

“I will always sing your praise
Here on earth and ever after
For you’ve shown me heaven’s my true home
When it’s all been said and done
You’re my life when life is gone.”

When we are away from home for a long time, we may know excitement, joy and anticipation when we are finally able to return home.  Let’s show our appreciation for that in giving thanks to God for the blessing of our homes and families and the many connections we have with friends, and all those things that make our earthly home so special.  Wherever we are, whatever circumstances we may find ourselves in, let’s remember that through Christ and in the power of the Holy Spirit heaven is our true home buy until that glorious day God is with is right here and right now.  Amen

Leave a Reply

